Camera recommendations for narrow corridors

faiz_syd

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi looking for Dahua camera recommendations for the narrow corridors that will only cover my side of the fence, and do not overlook the neighbour’s fence. Please see the photos of the areas I am trying to cover.
IMG_9063.jpegIMG_9066.jpeg
I have shortlisted two models
Varifocal: IPC-HDW3849H-ZAS-PV-ANZ-S2 - Dahua Oceania
Fixed: IPC-HDW3849H-ZAS-PV-ANZ-S2 - Dahua Oceania

Should I go with a varifocal turret or rotate the lens of a fixed turret? I am new to the CCTV world. Appreciate the help! Thanks.

Reaction score
Zoomed varifocal will give You give you a big blind spot under the camera.
For that configuration the best is to use simply fixed turret in corridor mode (rotated 90 degrees).
2.8 and 3.6mm will work (2.8 will be little wider, 3.6 will give You face identify for 1-2 meters longer distances)..

if we talk about cams, the best & most popular on this forum Dahua cam is 5442.
if have much bigger 1/1.8" sensor which gives much better image at night.

We buy those cheap in Andy shop:

Attachments

faiz_syd

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the detailed explanation. I am looking for the 4K cameras just to future-proof this installation. When I look at the camera specs, it mentions three focal lengths 2.8 mm; 3.6 mm; 6 mm for IPC-HDW5442TM-ASE - Dahua International.
Are these different models or settings in the camera?

Reaction score
Thanks for the detailed explanation. I am looking for the 4K cameras just to future-proof this installation. When I look at the camera specs, it mentions three focal lengths 2.8 mm; 3.6 mm; 6 mm for IPC-HDW5442TM-ASE - Dahua International.
Are these different models or settings in the camera?
those are fixed lens specifications.. As I wrote 2.8mm see wider, 3.6mm is less compressing people at distance...
For You situation 3.6mm will be better (very narrow corridor)..
Everything is in specification:

Screenshot 2024-10-01 at 10.09.54.png

faiz_syd

n3wb