Cameras stop recording when using sub stream

bfollowell

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have been using out-of-the-box BI5 for a couple of years now. I finally started watching through some optimization videos and reading through the ipcamtalk wiki articles and making changes. After adding the sub streams to lower CPU utilization, two of my cameras have stopped recording altogether. I'm fairly certain that the sub stream address is correct, but I get a yellow flag on the two cameras in question, identical cameras from the same manufacturer, within ten seconds or so of adding the sub stream.

cam1.JPG

The camera that works, you can see that it shows main stream and sub stream details with the sub stream enabled,

cam2.JPG

The two identical cameras that stop recording show only the sub stream details and no main stream details at all with the sub stream enabled.

The camera that is working is a very basic Foscam 5MP. The two that are not working are Foscam R4S. The two are recording again now, but only by completely deleting the sub stream information and dropping back to the main stream.

Any ideas what would cause the main stream recording to stop altogether when enabling a cameras sub stream?

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
Does each camera have it's own User interface that you can view?
Perhaps substream is not a thing in that camera,or its not enabled,

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Being a lower end consumer grade camera, it may only be able to stream one at a time as well.

bfollowell

Young grasshopper
Reaction score