CISCO 6630 IP Camera installation

gsatish

n3wb
Reaction score
i am very new to Cisco Camera. just bought a used Cisco 6630 ip camera. connected to my PoE switch, getting power and data link on switch, but don't find its IP address to view footage.. is there any difference in setup Cisco camera unlike others? how to set it up ?

gsatish

n3wb
Reaction score
Ya, i have searched everywhere, but didn't find the right advise.. Well the challenge is finding the Camera IP on the network. i am entering , but previous owner of this Camera might have changed IP which i am unable to trace, using other tools. i can find all my other Dahua IP cameras on the network.. don't know why this Ciso ip is not found

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
Look in your status page of your router and see if it was assigned address in DHCP?
If it is DHCP by default, maybe plug it in without a router in the mix and try to talk to it thru a switch at ..0.100?

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Ya, i have searched everywhere, but didn't find the right advise.. Well the challenge is finding the Camera IP on the network. i am entering , but previous owner of this Camera might have changed IP which i am unable to trace, using other tools. i can find all my other Dahua IP cameras on the network.. don't know why this Ciso ip is not found
Reading those instructions, the camera comes from the factory set to DHCP.
So, as @Flintstone61 mentions, you should be able to find the ip that your router assigned in the router.

You can also follow this method.

Flintstone61

Known around here
Reaction score
i'd definitely factory reset it at this point,
Some routers are crap for showing connected devices by IP.
If yours is older, it may be time to jump up to a router with more modern features.
I have this old Linksys/Cisco thing that doesn't have anything about connected devices in the " Status" page.