Dahua N3wbie , can’t figure out why IVS events won’t record

Paiberfunk

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I’m new to Dahua , and I must say that the backwards web interface is maddening in many respects, but I think I finally got a handle on it.

Just when I thought I was getting confident understanding the web UI (5, this is my first EmpireTech-IPC-Color4K-T180 cam) , I discovered that the IVS rules that I set up seem to be taking and storing pictures when the events trigger but NOT recording to the local SD card and it is baffling as to why.

These SMD enabled events (human/vehicle) are meant to take pics and to record 30 seconds of video on trigger.

I’ve tried turning just regular motion detection on too and can’t get that to record either . I’ve checked the motion recording schedule and it is on the default settings with events and alarms on 24 hours and general off for 24 hours. The only way I can get any recordings to show up is by turning the general (green bar) on but then of course it records all the time…

Ive RTFM and I’m lost , so I’m turning to the wise minds here for help , as I’m clearly inexperienced with this platform so far.

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
MD must be on to use SMD. It’s a layer on top of regular MD

IVS is completely separate and you shouldn’t try to run both IVS and SMD simultaneously. IVS is generally much better

Paiberfunk

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
MD must be on to use SMD. It’s a layer on top of regular MD

IVS is completely separate and you shouldn’t try to run both IVS and SMD simultaneously. IVS is generally much better
I’m confused by this, IVS claims that it uses human and vehicle detection as a target filter.. I assume this means that SMD needs to be on to enable this .

currently I have full frame MD on (default), SMD on, and IVS rules that are filtered by target type of human/vehicle . I can see and test the IVS rule successfully following the guide here :

Mike A.

Known around here