Dahua SD5A225XA reboot mark: abort

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
ljw2k, yes, my next test is to try other cables. I have quite good "test environment" so I can try different lengths and also factory-made cables easily. I will keep the forum informed about the progress...
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
Some update in my testing. Since 8th of september, I have replaced the cable with other 23AWG U/UTP cable. After the issue continued, I shortened the cable as short as possible. Now it is 4m between PoE injector and camera.
As dealer advised, I also updated camera firmware (2.8.21 is the latest), resetted it to factory defaults and restored the backup which was saved before reset. Also I have minimised the number of active IVS rules to just 1.

These changes have not helped in the issue. Also seems that there is no more reboots when IR light is on (=more power consumption) than during daytime. Though, at daytime there is more traffic so tracking is more busy.

I also sent update in my support ticket to Dahua, and their answer was simply "thanks for your time and test. Very hard to say right problem place. " I did not get reply to my question, what is the difference between
reboot mark: power off and reboot mark: abort.
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
You will have the Full Support of Dahua. I would contact your distributor again and ask for support if they can not help tell them it is being returned for a full refund and find another Distributor.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
You will have the Full Support of Dahua. I would contact your distributor again and ask for support if they can not help tell them it is being returned for a full refund and find another Distributor.
Yes, I know, I have good communication with the distributor and we are trying to figure this out together.
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
Excellent .....you should not have any worries as I'm sure they will sort it or exchange it if faulty without any problems or hassle.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
News again. Yesterday I replaced the Dahua injector with cheap TP-Link TL-SF1005P Poe+ switch. So far no reboots at all for 29 hours.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
And more news. Tested TL-SF1005P switch for one week. Works perfect, no reboots at all. Today I switched back the Dahua injector, and less than 3 hours I got the first reboot.
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
Hi oh6hfx, glad to hear you have fixed the problem with the reboots and time to RMA the Dahua Injector.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
Hi oh6hfx, glad to hear you have fixed the problem with the reboots and time to RMA the Dahua Injector.
Actually the injector should be fine. I just got report from the dealer that he has tested similar camera + injector combo and had similar results.

I also replaced the injector yesterday with Dahua PFS3005-4ET-60 switch but plugged the camera in port 2 (30W). This worked better than injector, but after less than 24h, got the first reboot.

So it seems that my test camera works fine =>60W PoE power, but 30W is too less. However, my client has his cameras in 60/90W PoE switches and still has reboots.
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
@oh6hfx The Tenda 67w total and 30w per port is more than enough to run this camera and been running my SD5A425XA-HNR (11 W/20 W (IR light on) now for 120 days without a single issue along with 2 other 4k Hikvision camera's with LED lights connected to the same hub.

Your camera SD5A225XA-HNR works of 5W no IR and 20W with IR so should be well enough to run your camera. With what you have stated I would be returning this camera to your supplier.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
Your camera SD5A225XA-HNR works of 5W no IR and 20W with IR so should be well enough to run your camera. With what you have stated I would be returning this camera to your supplier.
Please read the whole chain and just my last message: "I just got report from the dealer that he has tested similar camera + injector combo and had similar results. "
My client has several (near 10) of these cameras and all of them have reboot issues with PoE power. Some several times a day, some once a month. He even has one camera plugged in Dahua 90W
switch and still has several reboots / day. I can't believe that every single of those cameras would be defect.

It seems that camera acts slightly different with different switches. 30W is not necessarily 30W in those Poe+ devices, it can be also 26W or 32W. Can be also that in Dahua spec sheet is wrong, and in
specific circumstances the current draw is more (camera is ir on, tracking, zooming, panning, tilting and focusing same time).
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
"If" all the camera's are rebooting on different Switches no matter what make model then a problem lies with that camera model. I doubt that the dahua Spec sheet will be wrong but even if so look at other models in that range they all take around the same power a 30W rated switch would be more than enough even if it is really 32w or 26w. The switch I recommended is 30w on each port with a total 67W over 4 ports.

What I can't understand is why your dealer tested a similar model that would be pointless surely! it would need to be the same model that you are having problems with.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
"If" all the camera's are rebooting on different Switches no matter what make model then a problem lies with that camera model. I doubt that the dahua Spec sheet will be wrong but even if so look at other models in that range they all take around the same power a 30W rated switch would be more than enough even if it is really 32w or 26w. The switch I recommended is 30w on each port with a total 67W over 4 ports.

What I can't understand is why your dealer tested a similar model that would be pointless surely! it would need to be the same model that you are having problems with.
Yes, that's what I've been thinking also. It must be that these 25x and 45x HNR models have something which makes them reboot on PoE power.

Sorry my English, I meant by similar = identical. So the dealer tested SD5A225XA and TAM1GT1GT-30 injector; just the same I have here.
 

GuitarKin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 17, 2016
Messages
67
Reaction score
62
Location
Finland
Please read the whole chain and just my last message: "I just got report from the dealer that he has tested similar camera + injector combo and had similar results. "
My client has several (near 10) of these cameras and all of them have reboot issues with PoE power. Some several times a day, some once a month. He even has one camera plugged in Dahua 90W
switch and still has several reboots / day. I can't believe that every single of those cameras would be defect.

It seems that camera acts slightly different with different switches. 30W is not necessarily 30W in those Poe+ devices, it can be also 26W or 32W. Can be also that in Dahua spec sheet is wrong, and in
specific circumstances the current draw is more (camera is ir on, tracking, zooming, panning, tilting and focusing same time).
I have similar problems whit this cam too. My client use it with NVR4208-8P-4KS2. Camera shut down or freeze during autotracking and not boot up very well. I already change the new cable and conectors and still no help.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
I have news again. The dealer found out together with Dahua support that there is a moment when camera models current draw rises high and causes reboot especially when connected in TAM1GT1GT-30 injector. Dahua support recommended to use
either Hi-Poe 75W injector or 24VAC power supply. It seems that Poe+ info in datasheet is wrong.

Last week I got also Vigitron PoE voltage/power meter and I have used it to see what happens in reboot. According to this meter, cameras power consumption is not so high. During daytime, it can be 7-8W on idle and IR on around 10W. When tracking, 11-14W. This all with PFS3005-4ET-60 switch in 30W port which offers 53V. TAM1GT1GT-30 voltage is 51V. Both measured near the switch.

I had bullet camera recording the meter while PTZ was doing reboots. I could not see any big power peak, although there was always quick voltage dip just when the recording was stopping and camera rebooted. 53->52->53 in a half second. Highest watts were
15-17W just before reboot, no more. I also repeated the test when weather permitted and put the meter outside directly in cameras connector. Did not see significant difference in levels.

I also found a good way to test if the camera reboots or not. I have a preset with zoom full wide and one vertical tripwire just about center of the picture. I walk slowly back and forth in a form of an arc about 4-5m from the camera. Camera starts tracking me, and I continue walking. I walk until camera stops tracking and returns to preset. I repeat this, and if plugged in TAM1GT1GT-30 with a 5m cable, camera reboots almost sure. I could get camera reboot three times in a row. With 5m cable and PFS3005-4ET-60 switch, camera plugged in 30W port, I didn't had patience to repeat walking so many times I could get it reboot. Still, during normal operation it could reboot occasionally, maybe once a day or less.

I still was wondering why my client has reboots even he has Hi-Poe switch and good cable.

I made a stupid setup which should of course not be made permanently, but just for a test. I put PFS3005-4ET-60 switch with Vigitron meter in the other end, then 40m+20m U/UTP cable and last 5m F/UTP cable. Three female/female connectors in between.
Plugged the camera in 30W port and after 3 hours, I could see 3 reboots. I was surprised when I was playbacking the camera pointing Vigitron meter. In one of 3 reboots, I could see watts peaking 44 just before reboot! On the video I could count it lasted around 10 frames (half a second in this case). I don't know what is the sample frequency of that Vigitron meter, but it could be slower than the peak and that's the reason it is not seen in all reboots (and I haven't playbacked all of them).

Later I plugged the camera in Hi-Poe port and repeated my walking test. Quess what? Yes, reboot again. Of course the cable test setup is not good here now, but seems to be we have to pay very much attention to cable quality, length and AWG. Even though, my client still has AWG23 factory-made cables which are not too long.

I will leave it in Hi-Poe port now and see if there is reboots in normal operation with this crazy cable setup.


I have similar problems whit this cam too. My client use it with NVR4208-8P-4KS2. Camera shut down or freeze during autotracking and not boot up very well. I already change the new cable and conectors and still no help.
Did you get this solved with 75W injector?
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
Sounds a right pain in the ass what you are going through and If you have followed the manufactures instructions on power needs ( Which you have ) and still having problems then I would definitely be doing a RMA on the camera or camera's stating that they are not fit for purpose.
 

oh6hfx

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
30
Location
Lohtaja, Finland
Sounds a right pain in the ass what you are going through and If you have followed the manufactures instructions on power needs ( Which you have ) and still having problems then I would definitely be doing a RMA on the camera or camera's stating that they are not fit for purpose.
Well, that is one option. Just trying to find the solution for my client. I personally would just put AC24V power supplies and be happy with that. But if they want to use PoE, it seems to be hard with these models..
 

ljw2k

Known around here
Joined
Jun 9, 2014
Messages
1,258
Reaction score
1,820
Location
United Kingdom
24V power would be DC not AC and clear in spec it is indeed PoE.+( 802.3at) which it obviously doesn't seam to work correct hence why the ONLY option is to return for a refund and try a different camera maybe the SD49225xa-HNR which is basically the same camera and smaller & cheaper Win Win.


Direct from Dahua Website
Power SupplyDC 24 V/2.5 A ± 25%
PoE+ (802.3at)
 
Top