Favorite way to view your cameras?

camdensnyder

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
With an Empire Tech NVR how do you like to view the cameras at any time at home? Tablet, Laptop, HDMI from NVR to TV/monitor. I’m trying to get an idea how you all do it? I’m new to this so anything helps!

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
SmartPSS on a laptop or PC. I have a separate PC on my desk that runs SmartPSS most of the day

On a buddies house we wired HDMI to a 32" monitor that sits on a shelf above his kitchen

camdensnyder

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
On a buddies house we wired HDMI to a 32" monitor that sits on a shelf above his kitchen
With your buddies setup, you have an HDMI from NVR to a monitor and I’m assuming he has a computer that he uses to adjust his camera settings by the camera’s IP?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
With your buddies setup, you have an HDMI from NVR to a monitor and I’m assuming he has a computer that he uses to adjust his camera settings by the camera’s IP?
Correct. HDMI out of the NVR to Monitor.
We manage NVRs via a laptop or PC on the network via the NVrs web GUI. The direct machine interface with a mouse and monitor is horrible

steve1225

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
There are a lot o HdBaseT transmitters (which convert HDMI -> CAT6 -> HDMI) on market.. there are even solutions for sending signal from one NVR to 2/4/8 tv/monitors in home...
If dedicated CAT6 cables (without switches) is not a option, there are ip HDMI encoders, which create RTSP stream from HDMI.. You can watch this stream on any tv/computer/tablet using any RTSP / CCTV player app..

there are gateways to HomeKit (apple world).. there are HomeAssistant & frigate..
both can be displayed on tablets...

Last edited:

Mark_M

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
NVR's HDMI output to a monitor at my desk.