First Hikvision install, couple of questions

superdog

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all. I've just installed my first CCTV system. I'm a network guy and one of my smaller clients had bought a bunch of Hikvision gear from his electrical wholesaler and asked me if I could install it. I happen to know the manager of this wholesaler and I know that him and my client are good friends, so he wouldn't have sold him any shit or the wrong stuff.

I have no prior experience in the CCTV field but I got it set up and working nicely pretty fast. We're using the DS-7604NI-E1 NVR with two cameras connected - I'm not sure of the exact models but one is an outdoor dome with 2.8mm lens and the other is a bullet. Both are IP and have crazy resolutions (2688 by something). I am impressed with the quality to say the least. There are three separate sites with an identical setups in total.

The client wanted high quality continuous recording from both cameras. I've set this up now but with my calculations, the 1TB drive he purchased would only store about 7 days worth of video. I informed him that he'd need at least 4TB per NVR to get his desired "month" of recording, which he has agreed to purchase now.

At the moment the NVR is locked in the network comms cabinet. While this offers some amount of security, a determined person would be able to remove it. The client asked about the possibility of attaching a large USB drive to the rear USB 3.0 port on the NVR, which would be kept in a separate much more secure box, with just a hole cut for the cable. I also noticed the dome cameras have a microSD card slot on the board.

So my questions come now:

Can the NVR record simultaneously to its internal hard drive AND a USB 3.0 drive? The manual doesn't explicitly state whether the USB port can be used for continuous recording at all, and the wording suggests to me that it is designed purely for backing up segments of video from the hard drive.