Help needed with cam location

elbillete

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

Somewhat of a newbie here but have been lurking for a while. Based on what I have read seems that the Z12 is the way to go. I have ordered and received two cams from Andy and am now ready to mount them somewhere? My house does not have the best angles to the street and does have a good amount of trees in the front. I have the added difficulty of having the house somewhat setback from the street increasing the angles a bit. I know that some of you have had good success in capturing the tags from a fair distance away, however not sure what angles you are faced with or what is an acceptable angle. Practically speaking, other than less than 30 degrees what is considered acceptable?

These are the possible locations for the cams, including some of the trees I have to try and shoot through. I do need to capture both directions but could mix and match locations if needed. Appreciate any comments or advise.

Attachments

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
If you can get around/under tree, I believe those angles will work. Mine are worse angles than that and higher than street and yours will be fairly straight on.

Certainly do a test rig to confirm the location works before you run wires.

elbillete

n3wb
Reaction score
If you can get around/under tree, I believe those angles will work. Mine are worse angles than that and higher than street and yours will be fairly straight on.

Certainly do a test rig to confirm the location works before you run wires.
Thanks for the response. I should have been more clear. The pictures with the trees was just to show the distance between trees and not the angle of the camera. The cams are actually going on the roof overhang which is 14' high on top of the house already being around 3 feet higher than the street.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score