Idiot's questions and overview for IP CAM installation on Hikvision NVR

5string

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Help! I cannot get the A400 to work on NVR.

I followed the exact same pathway as S500, but it continues to say *network is unreachable*.
Settings are:
IP camera No.: D2
Adding method: Manual
IP camera addr: 192.168.254.3
Protocol: ONVIF
Management port: 80
Channel port: 1
Transfer protocol: Auto

PoE: 3.4-3.5W

I can view the camera when connected to power suply/LAN at whatever IP address is assigned. But nothing on NVR. Any ideas? Try to set static IP to 192.168.254.3?

I am a total newbie at this and thanks to several knowledgeable members here, I now have 1 camera up and running on my NVR.
Overview so far:

-Research and purchase NVR and Hard Disk storage
-Research and purchase cameras for the particular installation
-While waiting for cameras to arrive from China, familiarize self with NVR menus, network setup, HDD installation and initialization
-Continue to read ipcamtalk and prepare for install
-Purchase additional cameras after additional research
-Receive cameras from first order and attempt to function test before install
-Despite exhaustively reading and watching videos, go to ipcamtalk and ask its knowledgeable members to help

Last edited by a moderator:

5string

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have one camera up and running (just pointing out of my front window).
Longse S500 turret.

Required a 12v power supply and a Windows computer with LAN connection for initial setup before connecting to NVR. I used an old 12v 1amp cable modem power supply I had in a parts bin.

Open internet explorer and access the camera. For Longse S500 go to address 192.168.1.168 and change admin password and enable DHCP.
After saving, disconnect from PC & power supply and attach to open port on NVR.