Image not smooth, jerky

kokokoala

n3wb
Reaction score
I am fairly new to the ip camera world so I may not be using proper terminology. When watching live view or recorded on my two outdoor cameras. It seems like every second the image shifts slightly, or is jerky... not smooth. It happens at 3000kbps and even at 12000Kbps, with bitrate being "variable" and quality set to "highest". These are outdoor E series speed dome cameras, 2mp. Frame rate is 30. I tried making it constant and moving the smoothing bar over to the right and it still occurs.

Changing the resolution from 1920x1080 down to 1280x720p makes it slightly less noticeable, though still occurring.I have an indoor 1mp camera mini ptz from hikvision and it does not seem to have the same problem and its only running at 2000kbps bit rate, constant with highest setting. The only real difference I see between the indoor and outdoor is indoor has a higher i-frame interval of 50 vs the outdoor cameras of 30 and a smaller resolution of 1280x720.

Rather than playing with a whole bunch of knobs without really understanding what they are... what is the name for this behavior and what tweaks can I do to smooth out my image? Is it an indoor vs outdoor camera issue?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

MaxIcon

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
This is caused by the i-frame setting. At 30 fps and an i-frame of 30, you get a new complete image once a second. All the other frames are updates to the original. When the new full frame updates, it's enough different from the previous one that it looks like a glitch or jerk. Some cams are more prone to this than others, but there's not much you can do about it except set a longer i-frame interval.

You can verify this by changing your i-frame to 60 and see if it changes to every 2 seconds. If it's still every second, something else is going on.

pozzello

Known around here
Reaction score