IP Camera configured as Webcam

romeroom

n3wb
Reaction score
Goal: Configure an IP Camera as a webcam to use over ZOOM, Google Meet, etc.

Hardware: Aukey VT-CM1 (I have not purchased this yet. It is available for $10 locally), Windows 10, Wireless network capable of dual band transmission up to 200 mbps depending on the band. A wired ethernet connection is also available.

User Level of expertise: Very little. I have modest experience with Windows based operating system. I have no experience configuring IP cameras; I've never owned one.

Additional Information: Our family uses ZOOM regularly to spend time with each other across the miles. Sometimes there s a group of 5 or more in a room in my home that are part of the session. A laptop based or external USB camera has been far from practical. I tried configuring my phone as a webcam using DroidCam and the result was less than optimal; while video quality was good, the feed was very choppy and delayed.

Preschool - Novice Questions
  1. Is the Aukey VT-CM1 any good for what I'm trying to accomplish? I want to stay away from anything very expensive.

2. I like the idea of setting up an IP or other wireless camera by my new 58" TV and leave it there. Am I asking too much of an indoor IP surveillance camera configured as webcam?

3. Do you have any software recommendations?
There are a number of YouTube videos and other web content that promise great results when configuring an IP camera as a Webcam for video conferencing. A random review of forums on the internet on the subject brought me here. You are all very impressive in knowledge and ability to communicate your expertise to novice individuals like me.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Last edited:

romeroom

n3wb
Reaction score
never tried, but wyze team provided as an option. Wait to see what other members recommends

Thanks for responding with an idea.