Is 300Mbs too low to stream video in 4k?

mraidas

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have made short video about how my Internet connection is jumping up and down together with a frame rate that makes no possible to stream on any platform.
I have 300Mbs (upload and download) Internet speed here but not sure what makes my Internet act like this. Maybe I need 1Gbs Internet? or a different computer? Please let me know any advice will be highly appreciated.

Attachments

mraidas

n3wb
Reaction score
300mbps is plenty.

Wifi?

Ive not watched the videos. You should upload to YouTube so we don’t have to download unknown mp4s.
Hi @biggen

I'm not using Wi-Fi to my connected equipment.
On my video basically what is happening is that when i try to stream I get YouTube telling me with green light that "Prefect connection" and the after 2 sec grey light "No data" and like this forever and then disconnecting. Looks like data is getting jumped somewhere. I'm still new with BI.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi.

Your internet speed is great, absolutely no problems there. The 2160p VBR profile in UI3 only requires about 3 Mbps of bandwidth as a maximum, and on a scene with nothing moving it will usually be streaming at less than 1 Mbps. Besides it looks like you are connected to UI3 over your LAN, not using the internet at all.

Therefore I conclude that the usage spikes on your Ethernet graph are not caused by UI3. Something else on your PC is using most of that bandwidth and creating the "up and down" spikes. That "up and down" pattern is typical of most video streaming services like YouTube, Netflix, etc, where they are buffering ahead a few seconds, then waiting for some of the video buffer to be played before filling it up again. By comparison a video stream from Blue Iris / UI3 will be much more steady.