Issue with BI / Amcrest IP5M Camera

eggzlot

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
So for a brief background, not an expert, but I've had BI for ~7-8 years, I have 12 cameras on my system, from 3-4 different manufactures, so I have some level of knowledge, though by far an expert.

I have 1 Amcrest camera, an IP5M and I cannot get it in Blue Iris. it comes and goes, mostly its showing offline though sometimes its online. I know its not the wiring or the camera itself because it is always 100% on/available on the Amcrest app or even via my Control4 app. So two other apps get the feed fine.

Right now in BI it says offline and has a still photo from yesterday ~30 hours ago based on the time stamp.

I use the find/inspect with BI and it picks the generic instance, I know the user name/password are correct. I have lowered the FPS to a minimal # (I think the latest was 5 or something) and in the camera itself I have the resolution at 1280x720 so very low for a 5MP camera.

What gives? What am I missing? Today out of frustration I tried to just create a new camera using all the same info (IP, user name/password, etc) and it didn't work either. But again, my Amcrest and C4 apps work.

Last edited:

eggzlot

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
be certain the power supply provides enough current. If you're using a non-Amcrest power cube, tell us the amp rating.
I am using an older Unifi PoE injector for an AP I am not using anymore. It says GP-H480-050G ; POE 48-24w-G ; Input 100-240V - 50/60Hz, Max 0.75A ; Output 48V 0.5A

Again the camera works absolutely fine with the Amcrest app, camera seems online whenever I check, I get snapshots in Control4 (not live feed) and I get more drops than online access in Blue Iris

eggzlot

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm not certain which exact model you may have, but I was never able to get PoE working with the IP4M series of cameras.