iVMS - 4200 runtime error ?

Spookiepower

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
78
Reaction score
2
I have been using iVMS-4200 for a long time and it worked just fine. I then updated to the latest iVMS-4200 version 2.8.14. Each time I try to start the program it loads until it says 55% and then return a runtime error.

I tried uninstalling it then installede the Light version 1.0.0.4 and the normal version 2.7.2.7, but keeps getting a runtime error during startup of the program.

Anyone have an idea of a solution for my problem ?

I use windows 10
 

dealpapa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
100
Reaction score
7
I have same problem so do not use the latest version just keep your 2.7.2.7
 

tmushy

n3wb
Joined
Oct 17, 2017
Messages
26
Reaction score
6
I had the same issue also. Somehow it fixed itself
BUT
i just found out a newer version of ivms is out. Might want to try installing that one
DOWNLOAD EU PORTAL
 

dealpapa

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
100
Reaction score
7
if you google the run time error, you will see this is the solution for some people.
 

Tim Veer

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
22
Reaction score
1
I guess it wasn't enough just to install Wireshark and nmap. You must have done something more.
Spookiepower, I have 2 bald spots on my head from pulling my hair all day.
I had Wireshark and WinPcap installed and, just like you this USED to work. Tonight I installed the updated version and it failed, every other reinstall of older versions failed as well.
Digging into it, I found that WinPcap is discontinued and replaced by the newer Npcap (it's a Windows Packet Capture Library...).
Anyhow TL;DR go to Npcap and install https://nmap.org/npcap/dist/npcap-0.99-r9.exe
You might need Wireshark (I'm not sure), but it installs other dlls and libraries that Windows may make use of.
After installing Npcap, I can once again run my resource hungry iVMS-4200.
Cheers
 

Tim Veer

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
22
Reaction score
1
Spookiepower, I spoke too soon. After spending the night installing, uninstalling, restarting, trying different versions, etc, etc, I can without doubt state that HIKvision's iVMS software is a clusterf@ck!

HIK does nothing to support it's products. The site offers "New" downloads that are older than the ones downloaded last year. There is no tech support from HIK apart from the standard "Talk to your dealer, they are the professional...", what a bunch of BS. Yes, there are dealers/installers out there that do a great job, but c'mon, are these dealers supposed to be forensic software sleuths? Are they going to figure out why we get "Run Errors", when they have no support from HIK?

HIK lives up to the standard, stereotypical Chinese product image. They build it, you buy it, they wipe up with a kleenex and are done!

I know there will be the usual responses that "It works for me", "It's the greatest", etc, and for some people it is. In the few moments I got it working, it was great! I could view 9 cameras through my HIK DVR (all running 1920 x 1080 streams), and the load on my CPU was less than 10%, memory usage was huge (over 4GB), but there was no problem using my PC. And then I rebooted...

TL;DR
iVMS may work for you, it may not. HIK doesn't give a rats @ss about end users. Time to look for products produced by companies that value customer satisfaction.
 
Top