Just setup EdgeRouter X + 2x GS305E netgear switches

MythicFrost

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi,

I have just made the switch from my consumer router to the EdgeRouter X + 2x GS305E netgear switches. I used the wizard to setup WAN+2LAN2 and replaced default user with new admin, enabled offloading for hwnat.
I'm still learning about this stuff but have been following a lot of advice here / YT tutorials on setting them up.

This is a diagram of what I've done:

network diagram.jpeg

Everything appears to be working, besides the fact that I am unable to access Switch 1. Internet over WiFi and ethernet for the Desktop pc is working fine.
I can still access Switch 2's web interface so I must have made a mistake on the first.

• Port 3 & 4 on the router are unused for now, so I included them on VLAN10.
  • I have setup DNS and DHCP for each of the VLANs.

Should ETH port #1 on Switch 1 be tagged since it is connected to a WAP?
Does this setup look OK? Would appreciate any advice.

I'm currently reviewing firewall tutorials to make sure I'm not missing anything important.

Cheers,
M

iwanttosee

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
On your Desktop PC, can you ping switch 1?

iwanttosee

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Backup the configuration file on switch 2, then, disconnect switch 1 from router, restore the configuration onto switch 1, then change the IP and vlan info on switch 1 then try again.

DG99

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
What did you setup for the PIVD on the ports? Did you enable any trunking?
For what you are try to setup from your diagram, you would be better off make port 5 a separate network and get rid of the vlans and running 2 lan networks.
The way you have it set now is the not correct for vlan networking. If setup correctly you configure all port on switch1 or 2 can belong to any vlan group.

MythicFrost

Young grasshopper
Reaction score