Looking for IP Camera system for Business

RS229

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm trying to put together a good camera system for my business, and I'm looking to spend somewhere around $2500 for it. There is about 1500 sq. feet indoors that needs to be covered, and about a quarter mile outdoors for the property. I was thinking about having a 16 camera system and was hoping to get some assistance in assembling one. I'd read some good things about Hikvision, but I have no experience in determining what NVR or cameras to get. Night vision is a must, and I would like to receive audio if possible. I'll have a television in the main office and am looking to run Cat-5 cables for the length of the cameras. I read that wired cameras were the way to go for this sort of thing, but I'm not sure where to begin.

CYANiDE

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Remember that you are limited to 300ft. on your cable runs. You will probably need to put switches in or you can go with PoE extenders as another option. Post up a google earth view of the property and maybe post some pictures of where you'd like to mount cameras. That way we can recommend camera types, mounts, etc.

RS229

n3wb
Reaction score
Google Maps
This is the Google Earth of the property.

I'm wanting to put around 7 or so cameras inside the building with the red roof. On both the front and the back of the same building I'd like to have cameras pointing down to the ends to see vehicles entering and exiting. Also, I would like to run a few cameras down either end to get a view the length under the end of the sheds.

zero-degrees

Known around here
Reaction score
Lot of options here but there are a lot of questions in order to recommend a system.

What are we dealing with inside? 8' ceilings or 15'+ ceilings?

What are you trying to accomplish inside? Are you dealing with a flea market type setup, a store with a lot of aisles, etc?
  1. Watching over the entire area just to see business flow and general views?