Migration of IP Cameras to another NVR

frogmist

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a noob at this and my questions are pretty basic. I've done a lot of googling and I still cannot work it out hence reaching out to all of you experts for help.

What happens is that I recently joined a volunteer organization and they have an existing HIKVision CCTV system, with IP cameras, a HIKVision PoE switch and a HIKVision NVR. The system is working but the NVR looks pretty beat up. The plan is to migrate it to a different NVR machine (brand watashi). However the folks who have initially set up the system are no longer with the org, non contactable and nobody knows the passwords to the cameras, PoE switch and NVR!

I have reached out to HIKVision tech support for help to reset the passwords...somehow the reset codes they gave are not working (still following up with them). But I think it's a real threat that we may never get to change the passwords.

My questions that need your help:
1. Without the passwords, am I able to still connect the new NVR to the cameras? I have their network information (IP addresses, ports etc).
2. Can I just replace the HIKVision PoE switch with a D-Link PoE switch and it will work (switches are quite plug-and-play in general)? Or we will need to do some configuration on the NVR to talk to the PoE switch? I read somewhere about the binding of PoE switch...and I got lost. Not sure what that is about!

As this is a non-profit org, cash is scarce hence we are trying to reuse whatever we can... specifically the cameras. Appreciate any help you can give. Thanks a million!

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Reaction score