Network poe switches

The Automation Guy

Known around here
Reaction score
I think most would say a dual NIC system is easier than setting up VLANs.
There is no question that a dual NIC is easier to set up - although it isn't "plug and play" either.

That's not to say that VLANs are hard to set up, but they do require a little bit of knowledge (that is easily found in internet how-to guides and Youtube). I am a regular guy who knows little about IT and I self-taught myself all of this stuff. If someone is capable enough to set up a BI system, they are capable enough to have this same type of home network setup.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Before I figured out what I was going to do, I watched and reviewed this thread:

Now this member did a lot of setup to make it easier, but it still involved quite a bit even with the tools and downloads he created.

Then I looked at the Dual NIC thread:

And decided that Dual NIC was the simpler option, plus it keeps all the camera data off of a VLAN router/switch.

The Edgerouter is rated at like 800Mbps and my cameras are around 350Mbps so I thought it was crazy to have almost half the capacity used just on that.

I simply ordered a $10 GB NIC, opened up the computer and popped it in an available slot. Turned the computer back on and assigned it an IP address in the range I was going to assign my cameras to. Way more plug and play than a VLAN switch.

You have to static IP the cameras anyway, so static IP the NIC was just as simple.

As always, YMMV and use case and experience may vary and dictate something else.

Nunofya

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Take an available port on the POE switch and plug it into the 2nd NIC in the BI computer and pull the video feeds from the NVR that way. Or if the NVR has two WAN/LAN ports, use one of those to connect to BI computer.