Network structure question - separate vs single LAN

FLcardio

n3wb
Reaction score
Starting the process of planning a home PoE IP ccm system (probably 6-8 cameras) for our new house and as I think many here have found out the more research I do the more I realize just how many different ways there is to structure a system. For background I don't have any formal computer/network engineering background though have also been comfortable with computers and networking (home networks, VPNs, IP devices, etc..) So not complete noob.

Initially looking at one of the many standalone NVR systems out there (Dahua, Lorex, Amcrest) and came across Blue iris and certainly interested in the flexibility.

My question relates to structuring the actual camera network.

From my understanding it seems like I have two options:
1. Everything on the main LAN. All cameras and NVR would reside on my LAN along with my computers. Obviously everything could talk to each other and I wouldn't run into issues with having to bridge across a subnet if I needed to directly reach a camera though I understand that really isn't a big deal. I also understand the security risk inherent to this setup. Also little concerned about the network congestion this could cause.

2. NVR and cameras on separate LAN. Seems like this is what the majority are doing with a dual NIC setup in BI. Also seems like this is what the majority of the stand alone NVRs do with their built-in PoE ports (or 2nd LAN port) creating a separate LAN for the cameras.

So obviously I'm assuming #2 is the preferred route for security and network traffic concerns.