New Construction home, pre wiring, and PoE suggestions for a newbie

BigLarge

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello

I'm currently having a new construction home built. I just ordered 1000ft of monoprice STP CMR Cat6 for my home for the sole purpose of getting ready for a camera system (my first). I already know how to properly wire my home with Cat6. I'm planning to run this Cat6 from my "tech room" (note, I AM a tech newbie) to 6 different cameras and also to 4 different TVs. This is my simple goal:

-4 exterior PoE 3mp cameras
-2 exterior (used indoor) PoE 3mp cameras (optional: with listen-in audio)
-ability to view from 4 different TVs (optional: control via remote IR)
-ability to view Camera's remotely via web access or smart phone
-email notification for events

This SEEMS simple enough. I've reviewed a few camera systems (swann, lorex) that got mixed reviews. What I DONT have a handle on is WHAT system to go with. I don't want/or need anything with overly complicated setup. I really want to just plug in the cameras to the NVR, NVR into my router, and be GTG with minimal complicated steps. I enjoy wiring and installation, I do NOT enjoy computer part.

Please, give me guidance.

-BL

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Look at the Dahua thread.
Don't fall for the megapixel game. 2mp cams will have better nightvision.
Buy the same brand of cams and NVR.
Lots of info in the Dahua thread.
Wire is cheap, run to more cam locations now if you have any doubt you may add more cams down the line.

BigLarge

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply and insight. Would you classify Dahua as "plug 'n play?" Buy an NVR, HD, PoE cameras and its pretty much ready to go?

Jack B Nimble

Pulling my weight
Reaction score