New home POE camera setup - Feedback requested

Gemni69

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Im new to this whole POE security camera system. So I am here asking for feedback from the experts =-) on what the setup should be and get some questions answered based on your guys feedback and experience.

My top priorities are
1. Longevity of the system
2. Image quality
3. Power consumption
4. Price (camera between 60 to 130 each)
5. Not impact current home network

Camera placement Setup

So below is my thought of what the house setup should be. I want to be able to capture as much as possible from the front, side and back of house. In total i count 12 camera and I think that is alot. I was hoping only 8 but that does not seem to be the case lol. it is a single story 2800 sq ft house and my lot is over 9000 sq ft.
camera system diagram v2.jpg
I am thinking of using 4mm lens for all camera. Please provide feedback if that is a good choice or not? Also the placement of camera to cover what i need.

Camera Selection
So i am torn between bullet camera and dome camera. Anyone that can provide feedback on this based on my proposed above setup?

Below is the options I was thinking and hoping to get folks feedback on which would be best for the things I am trying to accomplish. I was going toward Dahua for the lower power consumption. I am also looking for a camera that has great hardware motion detection as I only will have a i5 CPU. Will share more below.

Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I CCTV POE 3MP Bullet IP HD Security Network Camera, 4mm
http://www.amazon.com/Hikvision-DS-2CD2032-I-Bullet-Security-Network/dp/B00G7GMEOG/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1460570587&sr=1-1&keywords=Hikvision
Power Consumption: Max. 5 W (Max. 7 W with IR cut filter on)

Or

Dahua IPC-HDW4300C Waterproof 3MP IP66 IR HD Network Mini Dome IP Camera POE with Audio