New system advice, please.

tyke

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I've just stumbled on this forum and assume it is mainly USA based. I am in the U.K.
I have very little knowledge of IP cameras, but would like to monitor my stables when I am at work.
Putting aside all the many issues of what equipment to use and I realise it is a very basic question, but......
If I want to access my IP camera on my smartphone when I am at work, I assume that my computer needs to be running at home. I know this is a very basic question, but the answer does not seem totally obvious to me.

Please be gentle with a complete novice. If anyone can give advice with what issues I am likely to encounter and how to overcome them I would be really grateful.

SquareEyes

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
A few questions first;

1. Do the stables have power?
  2. Do the stables have network/internet access?
  3. Will the camera's be exposed to the elements or indoors?
  4. Are the stables lit at night?
  5. Without compromising your personal security, would you be able to provide a Google Earth/Maps satellite view of said stables and the nearest point that has internet or network access?

This should assist the clever people here in assisting you. Luckily their are some highly valued members in your neck of the woods.

PS Welcome

tyke

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, thanks for the reply. Answer to all questions, except number 3, is yes, question 3 the camera will be outside.
All I really wanted to know, initially, is do I have to leave my computer on and running at home when I want to see images from my IP camera on my smartphone when I am at work?
I believe I can solve all the other likely issues with a combination of this forum, Google and YouTube, but any pointers to other suitable sites would be welcome.

stoney7713

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Yes, No, it depends on how you set everything up.