New to Blue Iris

Techuser

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello All! I am new to Blue Iris and I am very happy to have discovered this piece of software. Was very close to getting a full Reolink setup but really didn't want to deal with an NVR. I have an old PC that I wanted to check with you all if it is up to spec or if I should just buy any old optiplex with a newer CPU. I am thinking of buying maybe 7-8 4k cameras from Andy after reading a lot of your positive reviews on him and his cameras. I don't have any cameras yet in order to test out my PC but really need to make a decision and add them to our house ASAP. My PC Specs:

• i7-5820k
  • Asrock x99E-ITX/ac
  • Crucial Ballistix Elite 16GB DDR4 - 2666
  • Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 Windforce
  • Corsair HXi 850W - Platinum

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I say since you have the old PC sitting there doing nothing, give it a try. Worse case is it doesn't work. But I think you follow all the optimizations, you will be fine.

And good call on not going Reolink!

The Automation Guy

Known around here
Reaction score
Hello All! I am new to Blue Iris and I am very happy to have discovered this piece of software. Was very close to getting a full Reolink setup but really didn't want to deal with an NVR. I have an old PC that I wanted to check with you all if it is up to spec or if I should just buy any old optiplex with a newer CPU. I am thinking of buying maybe 7-8 4k cameras from Andy after reading a lot of your positive reviews on him and his cameras. I don't have any cameras yet in order to test out my PC but really need to make a decision and add them to our house ASAP. My PC Specs:

• i7-5820k
  • Asrock x99E-ITX/ac
  • Crucial Ballistix Elite 16GB DDR4 - 2666
  • Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 Windforce
  • Corsair HXi 850W - Platinum