Newbie: Starlight Recommendation for 2019

sibi78

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here, and I was directed here from reddit's homedefense sub-reddit. I'm looking to install security cameras in my home, and I'm trying to read the wiki to be familiar with various aspects (like Cliff's notes, etc).

For a starter, I'm looking for a Dahua Starlight recommendation (the latest model 2018-19) that would be ~$200. Is it still the 5231R-ZE as mentioned here: Review-Dahua Starlight IPC-HDW5231R-ZE 800 meter capable ePOE or some other model?

Thanks in advance!

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
That is still a solid choice. There is a cheaper model which is more cost-effective in my opinion: http://amzn.com/B07DRC93S8 It has no built-in microphone and less advanced image analytics, but otherwise is basically the same. They are great if you do not need audio and you need only basic motion detection or if you do motion detection through third party tools like Blue Iris.

There's also a new 4MP Starlight model but it generally costs more. Review-OEM 4mp AI Cam IPC-T5442TM-AS Starlight+ It should still be within your budget and provide a decent little boost to image quality.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

sibi78

n3wb
Reaction score
@bp2008, thanks for your quick reply. Just to confirm, the 5231R-ZE and 2231R-ZS are vari-focal but the T5442TM is fixed lens, correct? (I'll read the reviews in detail, but I was quickly skimming...)

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I believe there is a varifocal available in 4MP Starlight, but not in turret form factor.

pinko

Known around here
Reaction score
Hey welcome to IPCT.

Take a look at the Dahua catalog. Its set out well and it will help comparing the specs of all the cameras.
There's also 30+ Dahua Reviews of current models to help narrow the decision further.
Good Luck :)

sibi78

n3wb
Reaction score