(noob) ExacQ Playback Not Working with Outdoor Cameras

LeviRains

n3wb
Reaction score
Good morning, and forgive me for having absolutely no clue what I am talking about. I work at a middle school and we are trying to get some footage from a few days ago using exacq. I have noticed that on most of our outdoors cameras, they work while in "live" mode but when I try to search for older footage I get an error message with something about not being able to fetch metadata. Again, I am new to the system and have basically no knowledge of how this stuff works. Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited:

SpacemanSpiff

Known around here
Reaction score
Looks like no footage was recorded from the camera.
  • Right click on the live feed of the desired camera and choose 'properties'
  • next, click the 'schedule' tab to verify what it's current settings are (motion, free run, etc.)
Typically the default settings are 'motion' (24/7) to maximize how many days of footage can be retained
  • If it is confirmed that the schedule is 'motion', go to the 'motion' tab and review the settings.
Of the many settings that might be not tuned correctly, there is also a chance the motion that occurred in the cameras field of view was not enough to trigger recording

LeviRains

n3wb
Reaction score
Looks like no footage was recorded from the camera.
  • Right click on the live feed of the desired camera and choose 'properties'
  • next, click the 'schedule' tab to verify what it's current settings are (motion, free run, etc.)
Typically the default settings are 'motion' (24/7) to maximize how many days of footage can be retained
  • If it is confirmed that the schedule is 'motion', go to the 'motion' tab and review the settings.
Of the many settings that might be not tuned correctly, there is also a chance the motion that occurred in the cameras field of view was not enough to trigger recording