openvpn

camsmith

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Has anyone setup openvpn to work with the blue iris android app?

I have the blue iris app on a samsung s7, blue iris is on a PC with i7 4790
router is Untangle NG firewall with openvpn.

I can get the mobile app on my phone to connect to the blue iris server using the port forward method.
But I cant manage to connect using the VPN method.

Disclaimer, I'm not an IT pro. More like a hillbilly pressing buttons. :)

MrRalphMan

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi,

We'll need a few more details to be able to assist.

Is your VPN client connecting to the Router's VPN server?
How have you got openVPN setup on the router?
What errors are you seeing with the VPN client?

There may be more questions from more experienced people, but it's a start. :)

Paul

randytsuch

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
So adding a little to Ralph's post above:
Are you using openVPN Connect? That's what I use for VPN, it works well for me.

When you try to connect, both OpenVPN Connect and the router will create error messages in the logs if there is a problem, did you look at the logs to see what they say?

Posting the logs might help, but you should "sanitize" the logs first (IE remove any private information like DDNS names and IP addresses)

And that reminds me, does your router provide a DDNS service, or are you using another DDNS? You have to have a DDNS so your phone can find your home network's public IP address. This will not be in the form of 192.168.x.x. You can type in "what is my ip" at home, and google will give your public ip address. But your public address can change, which is why you need DDNS.

Also, I made these instructions for setting up OpenVPN on an Asus router. You have a different router, but it may still be helpful to see what I did.
Randy : OpenVPN on a Asus router

Last edited:

camsmith

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi,

We'll need a few more details to be able to assist.