Please help me figure out my VPN

Chase

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Ok first off I am a noob and I admit that my knowledge of this stuff is a bit over my head. My hope is that some of you will help guide me in the process of setting this up correctly because even after all the readings I just don't get "it."

So I have an Asus router and I have managed to setup my VPN on my router. I went with the PPTP Server that's built in already... I figured? it would be my easiest bet.

- Its enabled and VPN details are set as General.
- Further down I have created a username and password.

On my iPhone I went and connected to my VPN...

Type: PPTP
Server: Put my .asuscomm.com server here
Account: My username I created on the router VPN
RSA SecurID: Off
Password: My password I created on router VPN
Encryption level: Auto
Send All Traffic: On

Clicked done and it tells me I have connected to the VPN.

At this point I don't know what to do next in regards to viewing my cameras on my phone. I already have idmss lite installed on my iphone.

Am I setting this up right so far?
Do I need to make changes/updates/configurations on my NVR?
Do I need to forward ports to the VPN? Is that even OK?

Again I just don't understand everything and I am looking for help in getting this set up the right way.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Connect your VPN and then open idmss to your NVR's local LAN IP; done

you do nothing to your nvr, you forward no ports nothing further is needed.

Chase

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Since I am opening idmss to my NVRs IP I would then assume that I am choosing the IP/Domain option right?

Chase

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Ok. A couple more questions

I will add my NVRs IP

Port automatically shows 37777 .... I plan to just delete that entry ... so that should solve that right meaning its not gonna want to use a port.