PTZ advise and expectations?

Bigbore050

n3wb
Reaction score
Complete noob here but I have read the wiki and successfully implemented my current setup, Blue iris monitoring two IPC-HDW5231R-ZE(yellow arrows). My property is out in the country and not easily accessible except from the drive way so that is where the primary surveillance has been focused. But its time to add some capability.

The 3 things on my list are:

-1 Add external IR to possibly reduce some serous white wash from the driveway and pull bugs away from the cameras(I think I have this covered)

-2 Capability to read license plates of vehicles in the driveway day and night. Current 2mps can't get it done and cover the required FOV.

-3 Add cameras to the back of the house mainly for critter watching.

Screenshot 2021-09-02 1527471.png

So I'm seriously considering adding a PTZ to the location marked red and maybe adding another at location orange. Cameras would sit on a corner mount to be able to see down each side of the house.

Here is what I would like to accomplish with this camera:
-Monitor back side of the house, Mainly for critters.
-Auto track said critters
-Turn and zoom on drive way/shop if front turrets are triggered and auto track any activity from there.
-possibly catch plates on vehicles traveling down driveway

Here are my concerns:
-The camera will be blinded from white wash either form zooming in on the driveway, tracking a object close to the house, or headlights.
-Premature failure from constant motion.(always seems to me something moving in the back yard whether it is our dogs and barn cats or some foxes cashing rabbits.
-Wife make life miserable due to "big ugly cameras hanging off the hose".

Looking at the SD5A425XA-HNR 4MP or the 2mp variant or something smaller if someone can recommend.

I don't mind spending money on something to help reach my goal but I don't want to spend $800 on a camera that will perform similar to a $300 camera due to location and conditions.