PTZ Camera Advice?

zeq

n3wb
Reaction score
I apologize in advance for the seemingly basic questions but I’m a complete newbie in the security camera domain.

I have a large property (20 acres) with a cabin and separate garage that I’d like to remotely monitor during the periods when I’m away. I realize that I will eventually need multiple cameras to properly cover the property but due to budget constraints, I’d like to start off with one high-quality PTZ IP camera. The purpose of the security camera is more to generally survey the area while I’m away, and less so for security (theft) related reasons. We haven’t had any theft or vandalism issues but having a security camera will also act as a deterrent.

The targets on the property that I’d like to monitor are the garage, front of the cabin including driveway and finally my dock where the boat is moored. I have found a position on my garage that gives me an unobstructed view to all these areas, the farthest point being the dock at approximately 200 feet. The cabin is serviced with high-speed (LOL) internet DSL with 5Mbs download and 800Kbs upload according to my ISP.

As mentioned, I’d like to start off with a good quality and dependable PTZ IP camera in the $750.00 range that I could remotely access with my laptop running Blue Iris. I carry my Windows 10 laptop with me almost everywhere so this configuration serves me best. I’m not planning to install a DVR at this point in time, but as budget permits, it may be a future addition including other cameras.

I’m wondering if the Dahua Starlight Network PTZ 30X Dome Camera IP67 Auto tracking PTZ and IVS SD65F230F-HNI is a good choice for my application?

A few more questions regarding this camera:

It is only offered in the PAL format? Would this be a problem as I’m located in North American where the standard is NTSC? I believe that most DVRs have selectable formats so the PAL format will not be a problem?