Running 20+ cameras on a Dell Mini Tower i7-4770

ptzguy

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I thought this might be of interest. I've been adding cameras gradually for about 5 years. I'm currently running 25 cameras of various ages and brands. Most are Amcrest 5mp turrets, but others include some older model 3mp Panasonic PTZ cams, 5x of Boavision 2mp mini PTz cams (digital zoom only) and, more recently, 3x "Real HD" 4k (8mp) mini eyeballs.

The secret to running this many cameras on a retired office-grade desktop computer? I run them at very low frame rates - 5fps for most of them and 10fps for the ones at the front door. For my needs, that's fast enough for security ID purposes - it's like taking 5 photos per second. With that load, I'm running typically at just under 50% CPU. That gives me plenty of headroom for situations where there's lots of recording going on - for example, when the lawn care crew descends on the neighborhood and there's 5 guys working in the yard at the same time while the trash trucks are collecting out front and Amazon is delivering more cameras to my home. I also use VBR (variable bit rate) on all of the cameras. That also greatly reduces the load. I don't run Sub Streams on any of my cameras, although that seems to be a BI recommended practice.