[SOLVED] Hikvision NVR Won't Recognize Camera Using Ubiquiti Nanostations

BigMoe

n3wb
Oct 9, 2024
Maine
Hello,
I am not a professional, but have been installing cameras for the office I work at for a few years now and have always figured out whatever issues have sprung-up. Unfortunately, I might of overstepped my skill level because this latest problem has me stumped. My boss wanted a couple cameras on the second building across our parking lot. I thought using Ubiquiti Nanostations AC Loco to make the bridge across the parking lot would do the trick (I had previously used those to extend the internet to that building). The sketch below represents the setup I attempted:
Camera Setup.jpg
The Nanostations are setup and working properly according to the Ubiquiti App, but the Hikvision NVR will not fully recognize the Hikvision camera across the parking lot. The NVR indicates that it is in the process of "recognizing" the camera, but it never finalizes that process and just hangs forever. I even tried introducing a mini-switch in between the camera PoE injector and the Nanostation PoE injector, but that did not solve the problem.

Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Is that a POE NVR and the POE injector's "data" line is plugged into one of the NVR's POE ports?
If so that's likely the issue.
I'd assign the camera, both radios and the NVR's LAN port unique static IP's all in the same subnet and connect that POE injector's "data" line into the NVR's LAN port (or to a switch that's connected to the NVR's LAN).

I assume you have the 2 radios configured as a Layer 2 Transparent Bridge.

If not too late, set it all up on the bench there near the NVR, configure as above, test and if OK, then move the cam and its radio across the parking lot.

Reactions: BigMoe
Is that a POE NVR and the POE injector's "data" line is plugged into one of the NVR's POE ports?
If so that's likely the issue.