Supermicro Managed POE+ Switch - Anyone Familiar?

icpilot

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
104
Reaction score
131
I've been cooking along with an unmanaged Netgear 16 port POE+ switch for some time. Originally had an off-brand BV Tech switch before moving to the Netgear.

Now that I've had the opportunity to digest some of the massive amount of information here, I've become more aware of options and concerns, particularly cyber-security concerns. This led to me the decision to buy a managed switch to be able to use VLANs and have more control of individual POE ports. Unfortunately, it is damn difficult to buy a mid-range POE+ switch with at least 24 ports at the moment. Whether it's the chip shortage or the supply chain foul-up, whatever it it - they have proven very hard to find.

Ended up I found one for what I think is a terrific price (if it actually works :) ) on Ebay. For $100 I found a used 48-port Supermicro POE switch, model SSE-G2252P. As I've not used a managed switch before, I am reading through the manual as I wait for its arrival and 1400+ pages of manual is a bit daunting.

Network topology is pretty straight forward. Cable modem - Router w/WiFi - Switch. I do have a NAS and Printer and TED (The Energy Detective, electricity monitor) tied into the wired network along with my BI PC and a TV. Other devices are WiFi. All but 2 cams are wired. For some level of cyber security I currently have the block of IPs assigned for my cameras restricted in the router to disallow any port access. Review of the logs has not shown any issue, but then again, I am a rank novice at this so I might easily miss something.

Anyone have any experience with the Supermicro switches? If so, are there any 'Quick-Start' tips you might send my way? :)
 

icpilot

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
104
Reaction score
131
For 100 dollar it is a steal. Layer 2 switch should be sufficient for your needs but keep in mind it might use some serious energy.
I was expecting to pay $500+ for a 24 port switch, but could not find any reputable options on Amazon. Everything was sold out - Netgear, TP-Link, Trendnet... I looked for a bunch of them. When I found this one which is said to be "tested and certified," it seemed like a great deal.

The specs say it is a 500W switch, with a POE budget of 410W. Hopefully it won't sound like an F-16 taking off when I fire it up.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
2,224
Location
Minnesota USA
Somebody here once said, used enterprise switches are more plentiful in 48 Port Flavor simply because they sell more of those than a 24 port. ..and sometimes for compareable price.
I havent used Supermicro before, Do they have software licensing road blocks, or can you use the Vlan features without paying extra software licensing fees?
Before that nugget of wisdom ran across my eyeballs, I had bought a 24 port Cisco, ( 2 of them) Learning curve. :banghead: first one was 802.3 af and in the fine print, LOL only 12 ports are available for POE. Model #SG200-26P
Then I realized that PTZ cams require 802.3 AT wattage, so having had gone to Cisco Networking Academy for about 1 semester, I thought about a Layer 3 switch, with Vlan capability. then I thought nah screw it.....then i thought, ( i can do this! Imma put my BIG boy pants on LOL)
I had to do a fair amount of research, but I ended up with a WS-C3560X-24P-S. IP based (layer 3) switch. I read about how to restore it to factory defaults, but then I read where to use some of the fancy pants features you might have register it or license the software or some shit.....
So I left it as Layer 2 switch. I don't know if VLANS fall into that category or not.
Maybe more knowledgeable folks might say something.
But I like the hot swap fans and PSU's,
I havent been back to revisit Vlans......Mostly because it's at work and I don't seem to find the time..... And now with 17 Cams, a router, and PC connected im using 19 ports. In a more commercial setting at a Condo complex, I could probably see where a 48 Port woulda been a good purchase.
Be intersting to see how that Supermicro works....





[TD][/TD]

[TD][/TD]​
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
2,224
Location
Minnesota USA
having said that, I tossed a Trendnet 8port POE into my system at work yesterday as a swap for an 8 ch POE NVR, It was convenience and availability. Run to Microcenter buy a switch run back and get my cams back online. Problem solved.
For home, I tried the Cisco sg200, but jesus was the fan noticeable in a quiet house. So I'm watching with keen interest to see what you find in 24 port.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
2,224
Location
Minnesota USA
I was reading on the Cisco site where the Layer 2 (LAN base) switches support VLANS. Doh.....
Cisco Catalyst 3750-X and 3560-X Series Software

In addition to IP Base and IP Services feature sets, the Cisco Catalyst 3750-X and 3560-X Series come with a new LAN Base feature set. The three feature sets available with all Cisco Catalyst 3750-X and 3560-X Series Switches are:

● LAN Base: enterprise access Layer 2 switching features

● IP Base: baseline enterprise access Layer 3 switching features

● IP Services: advanced Layer 3 switching (IPv4 and IPv6) features

The LAN Base feature set includes comprehensive Layer 2 features, with up-to 255 VLANs.
 

The Automation Guy

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
363
Reaction score
607
Location
USA
First, I would never recommend that you buy a new network switch. This is because there is so much enterprise quality gear on ebay that buying used is the way to go. Remember, this is a switch that is going to sit in a closet somewhere and never be looked at again until there is a problem. Even a used enterprise quality switch will outlast a new consumer grade switch.

Personally have run a couple of Aruba S2500-48p. They are great - a few 10gb slots, full management, no licenses required, etc. However I also hear really good things about the Brocade ICX6450 series (ie 6450-48p or 6450-24p).
 

icpilot

Pulling my weight
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
104
Reaction score
131
Really appreciate the great information shared by you guys. Doing a quick search and I find that Aruba 2500 48-port POE switch on Ebay in the $100 range. Specs seem excellent and I particularly like the redundant power and fan tray replacement options. If the Supermicro switch (supposed to arrive today) isn't all I hope for, I will probably order one of the Aruba 2500 POE switches and try that next. At $100 it isn't going to break the bank to give it a try.

Flintstone makes a great point about shopping sellers rather than product. Seeing all the fake ads on OfferUp recently has sharpened my vigilance about the huge number of scammers trying to scavenge personal information or worse.

Thanks guys. :)
 
Top