Ubiquiti nanostation ac Loco

rufunky

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I have never used these before so I'm hoping someone that has could answer some questions.

I want to connect 4 cameras on a garage that are connected to a poe switch with no nvr. I would like to send the signal over to the main building where the nvr is so that all cameras are on the same NVR.

If I buy two of these, mount one on the outside of the garage connect it to the POE switch do I need the passive poe adapter that they sell or would I be able to plug directly into the 802.3af POE switch to send the cameras video to the main building?

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
You have to use the PoE injector supplied with the Nano Loco. Ubiquity, in their "infinite" wisdom is using 24vdc rather than 48vdc for their PoE devices. There's a thread here, a recent one as in last week, where someone plugged a Nano Loco into a regular PoE switch and fried it.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
According to datasheet here, the Loco uses a 24VDC POE supply and it is NOT included with the Nanostation Loco; it IS included with the larger Nanostation (non-Loco, if that's a word). The suggested POE injector is like this.

EDIT: Ubuititi does make a 802.3af to 24VDC adapter, I'll post the link when I find it.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

rufunky

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
You have to use the PoE injector supplied with the Nano Loco. Ubiquity, in their "infinite" wisdom is using 24vdc rather than 48vdc for their PoE devices. There's a thread here, a recent one as in last week, where someone plugged a Nano Loco into a regular PoE switch and fried it.
Oh jeeez! So glad I asked first.
Is there any reason at all plugging the passive POE injector into the POE switch would NOT be recommended?

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score