What camera type with these wires?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
The PoE power output from the NVR should be adequate.

I recall there being a spec of no more than 6ft of ethernet between the NVR and the transmitter, and same on the camera end...I never tested it past that so cant say.

What models cameras are you using?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
Gee, Id have to suspect the Coax, is the first eoc (trans) nearest NVR not lighting up at all?

Last edited:

phillcee

n3wb
Reaction score
Correct, I tried 2 sets of EOCs on 2 diff ports & neither lit up. He has an older analog camera system (installed in 2012), I did see the cameras functioning on the old system this morning.

Is it possible that the coax is still good for the analog, but not for the ip cameras?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
damn..Possible I suppose, I'm no expert on the conversion technology.... doesnt make sense why the first one nearest the NVR wouldnt at least power up...connect ot clean without the coax attached and see if it lights up? If it doesnt then the coax isnt the primary problem...

phillcee

n3wb
Reaction score
Have you used the convertors before? I'm wondering if I need an additional power supply or if I should return these and try a different one. If I can't get it to work I'll have to ge him an analog system.

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
I did at my old house, Im not currently using them. They worked fine with my Dahua system...

phillcee

n3wb
Reaction score
I don’t have one but I may purchase one to try it out. I’m running out of options.

phillcee

n3wb
Reaction score
Do you have an external PoE switch you could temporarily plug the trans side into to see if it will light up?