Advice/Review needed on camera types/models & placement layout plan

Reaction score
Hi y'all,

Newbie here. I'm looking into purchasing some Dahua cameras as deterrence as well as surveillance for my property. I will be using them with Blue Iris. Below are the camera types that I have narrowed down. I would like some feedback on my choices and layout. Thanks in advance.

AbbreviationModel
LPRIPC-HFW5241E-Z12E-S3
PTZ - auto trackSD59225U-HNI
OVW (exterior) - active deterrenceIPC-HFW3449T1-AS-PV-S4
VF - focus on back gate and front doorIPC-HFW5442E-Z4E-S3
OVW (interior) - active deterrenceIPC-HDW3849H-AS-PV-S4

Camera Layout.png

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Welcome,

Your Z12E and the 5442 cameras are solid choices.

You may want to rethink your active deterrence cameras.

Yeah the 3849 is a horrible camera that should have never been sold.

This is active deterrence camera on an 8MP on a 1/2.8" sensor, so it is on a horrible MP/sensor ratio. You cannot have enough light at night for it to perform well. That sensor is designed for 2MP so a 2MP camera will kick its butt all night long.

Even worse, since this 8MP is on the same sensor and CPU as a 2MP non TIOC camera and there are many threads here showing how under-performing that 3849 is. They had to limit bitrate and other parameters on the 3849 to try to make it functional, and it just doesn't cut it.

In my opinion the 3849 should not be sold with that current MP/sensor and CPU combination, but alas everybody wants 4k and chases MP over sensor and this camera is the epitome of that thinking.

Further, the red/blue flashing lights are more gimmicky and are certainly not a deterrent. With any ambient light you won't see the red/blue flashing unless you are looking right at the camera.