12v extension cable for IR illuminator

Mike4030

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
55
Reaction score
9
I've got 2 cameras for LPR along the road wired about 100 feet away from house.
I'd like to put 2 IR illuminators out there as well.
Can I extend the 12v cables 100 feet to them without any power loss?
 

hikky_b

n3wb
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Location
London
Yes but cable sizing might be an issue at 12V over 100 feet. How many amps does it require at 12V?

If you can, I'd run 110/220V to the illuminators and terminate into 12V locally.
 
Last edited:

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
1,530
Reaction score
1,511
Another option to reduce the loss is to send 48 VDC down the wire and use a POE splitter at the end. I'm doing this with 2 illuminators, eating up 2 switch ports to power the illuminators. It depends a lot too on how powerful the illuminators are.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
2,041
Reaction score
3,573
Location
New Jersey
I use "12 volt extension cords" for all my IR illuminators, and I'm using four at the moment. I make them myself using 16/2, CMR rated, cable. No problems with power at the illuminators, even the 30 watt one for the backyard which has a 50 foot extension.
 

Video1

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Location
California
IMO you will have significant power loss at that length if you're using the same thin gauge wire as the unit came with. I'm running a lot of landscape lighting right now. It's all 12 volt. You can use this calculator or the chart to figure out the best gauge of wiring you'll need. I'm running 10 gauge runs out to 300 feet.

I am going to be adding some IR illuminators as well. These will be powered by my landscape lighting transformer (1200 watt capacity with 3 banks of 400 watts each).

Power Cable Calculator By LedSpot

I've got 2 cameras for LPR along the road wired about 100 feet away from house.
I'd like to put 2 IR illuminators out there as well.
Can I extend the 12v cables 100 feet to them without any power loss?
 

Mike4030

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
55
Reaction score
9
Yes but cable sizing might be an issue at 12V over 100 feet. How many amps does it require at 12V?

If you can, I'd run 110/220V to the illuminators and terminate into 12V locally.
Haven't got the illuminators yet so not sure on the specs.
 

Old Timer

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
351
Reaction score
517
Location
ok
lator or the chart to figure out the best gauge of wiring you'll need. I'm running 10 gauge runs out to 300 feet.

I am going to be adding some IR illuminators as well. These will be powered by my landscape lighting transformer (1200 watt capacity with 3 banks of 400 watts each).

Power Cable Calculator By LedSpot
Make sure your landscape lights are 12v DC. Some setups are AC.

Also measure the voltage, make sure it is within the perimeters for the IR.
I run 2 (500ma ea) off of my gate opener, it's 12v, and floats the battery at 13.8 vdc.
 

Video1

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Location
California
Yes, my transformer is a heavy duty VISTA multitap that puts out 12 to 15 volts depending on the terminal. It has a 1200 volt total capacity. I've run 12 gauge wire to the planned locations. The runs are about 100 - 150 ft long. I plan on measuring the voltage with my meter to make sure it's within spec for the illuminator.

Make sure your landscape lights are 12v DC. Some setups are AC.

Also measure the voltage, make sure it is within the perimeters for the IR.
I run 2 (500ma ea) off of my gate opener, it's 12v, and floats the battery at 13.8 vdc.
 

Video1

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 15, 2020
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Location
California
I actually bought this transformer about 15 years ago when we were living in a different house. LED landscaping lighting was not a thing back then. Everything was halogen. So the watts really added up if you're planning on installing 50 landscape lights at 30 watts apiece. Now these same fixtures are 3 watts! So 50 lights now only draws 150 watts. So yeah, I have way way more capacity than I'll ever need. Good thing I saved the transformer though (I have two). These things are VERY well built and heavy as heck. The case is all stainless steel.

I have an Etekcity Outdoor WiFi outlet that feeds the AC to the Vista transformer. That way I don't have to fool with a timer or light sensor. The Etekcity outlet can be controlled by an app on my cell phone. I have it set on a schedule to turn the lights on and off. Similarly you could feed the IR illuminator with this outlet and set the app up to control the illuminator on a schedule.
 
Top