Adding Camera to Hik-Connect?

ken830

n3wb
Joined
Mar 23, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
2
I'm running a few Hikvision cameras (no NVR) and I view them with iVMS-4200 at home and the Hik-Connect app on my phone.

I just received my HDW4830R-I and I can't seem to add it to Hik-Connect. I want it to show-up along side my other cameras.

Am I missing something? Under Settings -> Network -> Advanced Settings -> Platform Access, I see "Guarding Vision", which is like a differently-branded Hik-connect.
 

ken830

n3wb
Joined
Mar 23, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
2
It looks like I can login to Guarding Vision website with my Hik-Connect login and it sees all of my existing cameras. But I can't add my new camera because the Platform Access tab still shows "offline."
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,622
Reaction score
1,872
Location
New York
It looks like I can login to Guarding Vision website with my Hik-Connect login and it sees all of my existing cameras. But I can't add my new camera because the Platform Access tab still shows "offline."
Hey Ken, sorry for the delay and for moving your thread! My mistake. Can I remote into your computer or log into your camera to help you out? Would like to see exactly what is going on.
 

ken830

n3wb
Joined
Mar 23, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
2
Hey. No problem! Yeah. Either connecting to the camera or remote in would work. What's generally a good day/time for you? You're on the east coast? I'm okay if we need to wait till after mother's day weekend.

Thanks in advance!
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,622
Reaction score
1,872
Location
New York
Hey. No problem! Yeah. Either connecting to the camera or remote in would work. What's generally a good day/time for you? You're on the east coast? I'm okay if we need to wait till after mother's day weekend.

Thanks in advance!
Shoot me a pm, I'm avail whenever, including now! If you want me to remote into your comp, let's use Ultraviewer from ultraviewer.net, otherwise forward the camera http port for me. Either way pm me with the credentials!
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,622
Reaction score
1,872
Location
New York
I was able to remote in and fix the issue. For anyone else having the issue, if you are using "Guarding Vision" as the platform access mode, the server IP needs to be litedev.guardingvision.com

Enjoy @ken830
 

ken830

n3wb
Joined
Mar 23, 2015
Messages
20
Reaction score
2
Prefect! Thank you, Mike! Now that I know it works perfectly with my existing hikvision cameras, I will be ordering more very soon!
 

jebt2921

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Cave Springs
Quick question on this subject. I’ve been have terrible experience getting notifications on my iPhone until I found this setting where I needed to enable Guarding Vision on my Hikvision NVR. I’m now getting push notifications as expected, but now I can access my cameras when away from home and NOT having OpenVPN enabled.
Is this normal because I want the layer of security OpenVPN brings but I also want push notifications. Can I have both?
 
Top