Alarms/Errors

artamous75

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new to Blue Iris, and shortly after setting things up, I'm getting the following !! C: -2.19T at the bottom of the screen (see attached). I'm guessing that it's related to the Clips error shown in the status attachment.
Does anyone have an idea as to how to correct this?

Attachments

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
You've over allocated space to BI on your C: drive. Post a screen shot of the storage tab and screen shots of you storage allocation from the configuration page.

Best practice is to write once rather than move files from drive to drive, IE new on C: to stored on D;. Just write everything to new on D: to reduce CPU utilization moving files needlessly. Also you need to leave 5-10% of free space on a drive for BI to work with as file sizes shrink and grow. If you have a net of 7TB on a drive, leave at east 35GB of unused space.

artamous75

n3wb
Reaction score
Here are the screenshots of the setup. I'm using a 6TB HDD as one big partition. So it sounds like I will want to create a new partition D:??
Do you have a recommended setup? It's all new so not a big issue to modify the setup.

Attachments

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
Your C: drive has a net space of 5.5TB. You're allocating 4.5TB to stored and another 10GB to new for a total of 4.510TB. That leaves roughly 1GB for everything else. Throw in Windows OS and anything else on there and you're allocating more space than the drive has.

The screen shot I'm looking for is from the console, click the lightning bolt graph on the upper left, then click on the disk tab. That will show you exactly where you're going wrong. Post a shot of that.