ALPR for home street - need advice to choose the right NVR

urosbe

n3wb
Reaction score
I live in a small village that was pretty unknown to the folks until new houses were built. New buildings seems to be also attractive to thefts, because they have already broke into one of them just a month ago and it is not so rare any more to see unknown vehicle looking around at houses at night time or during the day when people are at work. Since only one road leads you to the village and I live at the very start of the street, I have an idea to set up a solution with ALPR detecting all vehicles approaching in exiting the street. Neighbours are also excited about idea.

As a web software developer I have an idea to implement a simple responsive web app (that only invited people will have access to) that you can easily access with shortcut on mobile phone or bookmark at desktop computer. Website would show me feed with info regarding vehicles that arrived or left our street by timeline. Something similar that you can see in Netatmo mobile apps for their security cameras, but more specific regarding vehicles, because only cars with unknown licence plates would appear on the list (for example: Honda Civic silver XY 1234 approached: 11:29, Honda Civic silver XY 1234 exited: 11:31, ...):
netatmo.png

App would also have an option to flag unknown vehicles as known (when some friends or parents visits someone), so we can have pretty accurate whitelist/blacklist ready within few months. In case some strange vehicle is detected, app could send push notifications to all the neighbours phones that would like to be notified.