Any 5V outdoor camera?

MakeItRain

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Are there any 5V outdoor camera?

I know the indoor ones (Dahua/Amcrest) uses 5V and that is nice since it is low power and picture quality is great.

But I haven't found any 5V versions for Dahua for outdoor in a metal housing. Curious why that is.

TVille

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
I believe it is because most indoor cameras are powered from a USB brick. They are dirt cheap and readily available, most low power electronics seem to be powered by those now. Most indoor only cameras are also consumer grade, and consumers understand the USB brick system. However, for outdoor use, USB is not so convenient. Most current outdoor cameras are powered by POE, which is more like 40 volts or something. I'm not an expert on POE, POE+, etc. Most cameras appear to be able to powered by 12 V separate feed, but I'm not sure why since most require ethernet, may as well power them with a POE switch or injector, rather than a separate wall wart.

Dodutils

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
My guess is that 12V is better voltage to transport power over longer distance than 5V because of voltage drop, there is no current drop over distance, only voltage so to transport 10W of power you'd better use 12V/0.5A than 5V/2A and internally the cameras do not really work at 12V so even if you get 9V at the end it should be OK which will not be if you drop from 5V to 2V

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score