Anyone tried these SSD surveillance disks?

ipOsX

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
SSD for Video Surveillance

I read here that SSDs are not well-suited to the read/write demands of 24/7 CCTV but I assume that Hikvision have tested them and found them fit for purpose.

I realise that they are expensive and may not last as long as conventional disks but my priorities would for a quieter-running disk and one which could smoothly handle high frame rate recording and playback of up to 4k video. As a desktop video editor, I know that most conventional hard drives can't handle that - which is why I have a 4TB SSD in my PC.

Reaction score
I too have wondered if a SSD would be a good choice to upgrade a NVR. When I bought my 16 channel Lorex NVR, it came with a 3tb drive. Before I implemented the NVR, I replaced the drive with a 6tb drive of the same specification. It took me all of 10 minutes. At the time (4 months ago) a 6TB SSD drive wasn't available or was just too expensive. I replaced the drive with a sata mechanical drive. I bet within 2 years, 6TB SSD drives would become more commonplace for nvr usage. I can't help but think that SSD drives are the way to go for NVRs. Faster and more reliable!! -Greg--

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Reaction score