Anyone use point to point wireless?

Rakin

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Just curious.

I am still new at ipcams and I am setting up my house as we speak. But once I get my small project going I was considering putting some cameras up at my dads house that is maybe 1000’ away. Is it possible to do it securely? If so is it also possible to run cameras and internet over the point to point from my house to his and keep the everything secure?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Yes, it is absolutely possible if there is a clear, unobstructed line of sight between the radios. This is important. Assuming you can accomodate that, this is what you need: http://amzn.com/B07K351LGD
You'll also need a handful of extra network cables. One to go from the each radio to the poe injector, and from the poe injector to a network switch. These devices use passive 24 volt PoE which is different from standard PoE used by IP cameras.

As an Amazon Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

Rakin

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Yes, it is absolutely possible if there is a clear, unobstructed line of sight between the radios. This is important. Assuming you can accomodate that, this is what you need: http://amzn.com/B07K351LGD
You'll also need a handful of extra network cables. One to go from the each radio to the poe injector, and from the poe injector to a network switch. These devices use passive 24 volt PoE which is different from standard PoE used by IP cameras.

So will it be secure? Would there be a way to not only run his cameras at his house on my bi pc at my house as well as share my internet with him without having to worry about his cameras gaining access to the internet?

Dramus

Pulling my weight
Reaction score