API connection down

Tayschrenn

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 20, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
Location
Michigan, USA
Good morning,
Noticed that my windchill and temp haven't updated in a while so checked on BIT - sure enough, it's 'Error connecting to wunderground' - no issues with internet and no changes to firewall etc - it's just not connecting. Tried other API keys (known working ones) and nada.
1674403790839.png

Anyone else?
 

Tayschrenn

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 20, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
Location
Michigan, USA
1674412398190.png


Well I'll be damned. I believe that this may be a case of Schrödinger's BIT - 1:32 was when I connected back to my RDP session... Maybe it only dies when you look directly AT the BIT... :banghead: - it also started working after disconnecting from the session earlier...
Kinda wish I could enable debug logging.

Edit: Spoke too soon - while it says that it updated, the temps reporting are not what the station in question is reporting - so it's not accurately pulling anything at this point.
 

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
5,036
Reaction score
7,991
Location
Minnesota USA
I think im using some neighbors weather systems. Not sure if he needs to be on WU....for his feed to work? not up to speed on all this. Just glad I was able to post Temps on screen after several unsuccesful or intermittent feed codes from BI T
 

Coal_Cracker

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 21, 2022
Messages
84
Reaction score
181
Location
USA
Mine isn't working either It went down at 07:40. I use my own station at the house and the home station Ipad is current. Tools is saying error connecting to check internet or station ID.
 

Tayschrenn

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 20, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
Location
Michigan, USA
Yeah, It sounds like this may need the developer to update it to either allow us to manually point it at another API, or (as the API is likely WU specific) pick one that hasn't sunset their API integration as it looks like WU has (from what I have found online, it's been planned for a couple of years)

Even when I use KMNCOONR1 it fails, so that's... really really weird. I suppose it's possible too that they've (WU) for some reason blocked my IP.
 

Tayschrenn

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 20, 2019
Messages
46
Reaction score
8
Location
Michigan, USA
I just went through and deleted all of the station IDs in my list and readded - one didn't work, one did... At least for now. So my guess is it's just WU being not very friendly with BIT (which is 100% not Mike's fault)
 

Coal_Cracker

Pulling my weight
Joined
Aug 21, 2022
Messages
84
Reaction score
181
Location
USA
Mine went back online this morning sometime an seems to be updating regularly.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
11,939
Reaction score
25,382
Location
Alabama
I just went through and deleted all of the station IDs in my list and readded - one didn't work, one did... At least for now. So my guess is it's just WU being not very friendly with BIT (which is 100% not Mike's fault)
Yeah, WU has gone up and down more in the last 3 years than a red and white plastic bobber at a good bluegill or crappie spot.... :headbang:
 
Top