Audio/video desync recording from RTSP & my experience dealing with it

Player701

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello everyone! (Sorry if this is not the proper section for posting this, it's my first time on these forums. Please move to the appropriate section if necessary, thank you very much.)

I've recently encountered a very peculiar issue with one of my IP cameras, and would like to tell other people how I managed to deal with it, in case someone encounters a similar problem.

Synopsis: I have several IP cameras at home, and also a low-power server (really just an old PC), which continuously records footage from the cameras, storing it in 10 minute-long segments. Footage older than 24 hours is automatically deleted. Recording is done via FFmpeg, without re-encoding audio or video, which saves CPU resources. All cameras support RTSP, so the command-line to record from each camera is similar and takes the following form:

Code:
ffmpeg -nostdin -flags low_delay -fflags +nobuffer+discardcorrupt \
-rtsp_transport tcp -timeout 3000000 \
-i rtsp:/user:password@ip.ad.dre.ss:554/url \
-map 0:v -c:v copy \
-map 0:a -c:a copy \
-f segment -strftime 1 -reset_timestamps 1 -segment_atclocktime 1 -segment_time 600 "%Y-%m-%dT%H-%M-%S.mkv"
This used to work flawlessly until I got another camera, which is a different make and model than the rest. Previously, I only used Hikvision cameras, but this one came from AliExpress (China), and doesn't have a particular brand. From the device info page in the web UI it appears to be called "F8/IPG-9280PGS-AI".