BI camera connectivity and webserver behavior

kcorbin

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all - I've been running Blue Iris on a dedicated Win 10 PC for a couple years now supporting 8 cameras: 7 5231s and 1 recently swapped to a 5442.. specs of the BI system are below. The cams are driven by 2 ZyXEL 8-port PoE switches, daisy chained, connected to a second NIC on the PC. For the most part, everything has been extremely stable with a couple recent exceptions. Last night at about quarter after 11, all of the cameras dropped out of Blue Iris, indicated by constant network retries in the log file until I noticed I couldn't connect this morning. 1 camera did manage to come back on its own immediately and stayed online all night. The BI load on the PC usually sits under 15% and was well into the 90s when I found it this morning. I connected to a couple of the cameras directly and everything was fine on that end. I rebooted the PC and everything came back normal. Has anyone experienced this before or have any thoughts as to what kind of upset might have triggered this? My wife connected via the app this morning and saw all of the cameras offline. When I tried to connect, the webserver refused me.. which leads to my second anomaly..

Back in August I was having intermittent issues with the BI webserver where it would work normally for a while and eventually start refusing connections. Restarting BI restored the connectivity for a period of time and eventually it would fail again. This happened for 3 or 4 days and then it suddenly resolved until today (2 months later). After the recovery from the event last night, the webserver has been behaving the same again. The configuration of the system has remained unchanged. I did update BI to the latest stable release today to see if anything would change. Any thoughts on what might be going on for either of these scenarios are greatly appreciated!

Kasey

Version: Release 5.3.2.11 x64 (9/25/2020)