BI load times dramatically different on 2 PC's with exact same specs

Tuckerdude

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hey Folks....Happy First Of May!

So I've been running BI on my main desktop machine for about 4 months now. It was a brand new rig with very high end specs:

Core i9-79080XE
128GB Ram (More than BI needs, but again this is my desktop PC)
1TB M-2 SSD
Asus Rampage VI Extreme Motherboard
Windows 10 64Bit
Nvidia Titan GFX card (for playing games)

The machine is very performant across a number of applications and runs BI buttery smooth with 35 cameras

However...from the beginning, I've noticed that application load times seem very slow, especially BI which takes a full minute to get up and running. I don't even see BI's interface until around 45 Seconds.

Just this weekend, I decided to upgrade my Stand-alone PC which serves up BI 24/7 and records all the activity around the property. I replicated the entire system spec from above and once I got everything installed, I noticed that BI launches within seconds (almost instantaneously), which is what I was used to before.

So my question is...does anybody have any clue what might be causing this delay? I know it's hard to debug such things, but any pointers or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Again...it's not about performance, as the i9 CPU is a beast and does a great job with the heavy load from BI. But rather, the load times which seem CRAZY long compared to other machine with identical specs!

Thanks in advance for any help!

Reaction score
Could it possibly be disk fragmentation or the existing system is spending a bunch of time at the beginning doing something the new system wouldn't need to (like loading up the clips database or something)?