Blue Iris and nvr at same time

pal251

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
1,011
Reaction score
124
I have some one that wants to have an nvr and blue Iris setup on same lan at once. Anyone done this before with any issues? It's a hikvision setup
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,942
Reaction score
3,026
If the cameras are IP cams and the plan is for Blue Iris to stream from each cam, as long as the cams can support multiple streams (i.e. NVR + Blue Iris), I think it should work (barring any unusual network setup).

If the plan is to have Blue Iris try and pull camera video from the NVR (vs. going directly to the cameras), then I don't know.
 

tony_331

n3wb
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Fort Lauderdale
Hope you can help with diagnosing my camera situation:

Moving 6 Reolink cameras (4x RLC-410 + 2x RLC-420) from my RLN8-410 NVR to Blue Iris
5 of the 6 cameras are up and running in BI - 1 RLC-420 does not appear available via Find/Inspect.

All cameras are now plugged into a new PoE switch
NVR is still plugged into router.
Simultaneously, ALL cameras still appear in the NVR, but only 5 of 6 appear in BI.

For the camera in question (one of the RLC-420):
Again, perfectly functioning in the NVR, cannot Find/Inspect in BI.
Manually typing in the IP & Find/Inspect yields no results.
Verified that cabling is not the problem
It does appear as an object in the list of connected devices on my router.
I am able to ping the camera successfully.
When I try to directly access the camera via a browser, the IP address cannot be found (worked ok for the other cameras)
Nothing in the NVR seems to let me diagnose the camera

Other than that, yes, I’m operating the NVR and Blue Iris on the same LAN.

Any ideas on troubleshooting my camera?
 

Smalljob

n3wb
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Massachusetts
I am using both at the same time. Just started with Blue IRIS running on a dedicated Windows 10 PC I had laying around, and I have a 4 port NVR. I have 1 POE camera through a POE switch , one wifi camera and then 4 POE cameras through the NVR. for the 4 cameras on the NVR I am allowing them to continuously record on the NVR, but using BI to capture alerts. It saves on CPU resources on the PC. If an alert does not give me enough information and I want to look at a larger window I can go to the NVR to to look at more data. The cameras not on the NVR are using the PC with BI.

It did take me awhile to get BI to see the cameras behind the NVR, but once I figured it out no problems. My cameras and NVR are Amcrest. Let me know if you need more information.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
5,863
Reaction score
6,532
Location
Alabama
Hope you can help with diagnosing my camera situation:

Any ideas on troubleshooting my camera?
Reolink's own site offers little info regarding ONVIF compatibility but a seller on amazon says it is, so take that for what it's worth.
I mention this because have you tried ODM ? Put in the IP, user and password and select "live view".
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
I'm using a 8 port POE HikVision NVR with Blue Iris running simultaneously with a total of 24 cameras on a i5 computer. I don't remember the exact specs anymore since I put everything together over 3 years ago. Everything runs smoothly. I have the Hik blocked from the internet and use using BI to view all cameras.
 
Top