Blue Iris behind someone elses firewall

Richard Aman

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Good Morning,

I would like to run Blue Iris on my Boat to to keep track of whats happening when I'm not there. The boat is sitting at a Marina and I don't have accesses to the router for any sort of port forwarding. NGROK was recommended to me by someone at Blue Iris support - though they have not personally used it. I downloaded the free version. I was able to get it working for only a few seconds before It crashed because it was overloaded. (I believe 429 error was flashing on the web interface) I'm only running one camera currently to test my setup. I'm kind of new to this type of thing. Any help would be appreciated.

I've also read about hamachi, but don't know anything about it.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
Ngrok's free service will limit you to 40 connections per minute which is not very much. Honestly I would not touch that service since their paid plans also have connection limits like that.

Your best bet is to run a VPN server at your home where hopefully you have a public IP address and control over the router. See this thread: VPN Primer for Noobs

Then you should be able to connect a Blue Iris server running on your boat to that VPN and thereby make it accessible. You'll need to do a little work to make sure it connects to the VPN automatically and reconnects automatically in case of connection loss.

Once the BI server is connected to the VPN, you will be able to access it from your home or from any other device that you connect to the VPN.

Reaction score
Richard, any particular reason you want the BI machine on the boat? I would work on having just a camera on the boat (lower power consumption) and working out how to reach the camera from a Blue Iris machine at your house possibly (video recorded somewhere other than the boat where it could get stolen, destroyed, sunk etc).