Blue Iris locking pc up when not streaming via HDMI

evnldr

n3wb
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
5
Location
East Coast
Hello fine people.

Maybe there is a simple answer here is the issue.
PC is a Asrock Z87killer i74770K 12 gig ram
Windows 10

As long as I'm watching live via HDMI to tv system is fine.
If I switch inputs it when I come back entire system is frozen time image ect. Have to hard power down.

Thanks in advanced.

At the time of this post I don't have access currently to server so don't have build and driver info atm.
Should be in the AM.
 

Dahuacamcctv

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
61
Reaction score
26
Location
Chicago
Do you have a seperate graphics card or are you using the hdmi input in the motherboard? If you plug both in at the same time and go into display manager are you able to detect both displays?
 

evnldr

n3wb
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
5
Location
East Coast
Just the onboard hdmi nothing fancy board ram cpu and memory. Im keeping it simple and BTW i am using demo mode till I get all this worked out. I have a Hikvision as a fallback.

Edit:

This was an old gaming pc that was upgraded a bit ago known working.
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
256
Reaction score
303
Location
SF BayArea
Interesting article, Because I have the same setup and I am having similar issues. So Z87 Extreme 6- I7 4770k Processor and blueiris 5 .. Running computer locks up randomly...

Did you figure out what it was ?
'
I am using M2 970 pro.. with a PCI card.. Even without it straight to sata 3 dirve like 860 pro also locks up... the system and yes firmware is all up to date on drives..

I thought it was something else.

Also Note: THis is locking up not only with HDMI also with display port.. and it is random like it will work for hours and lock up .. randomly
 

evnldr

n3wb
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
5
Location
East Coast
Nope, sometimes it locks up and others blue screen. some days at a time sometimes more times a day did the same BS4
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
256
Reaction score
303
Location
SF BayArea
Okay .. So seems like some sort of compatibility then with the specific board.. Sounds like..Because mine was doing the same thing I finally gave up and took the BI out.. Becuse it is happening too often.. And will see if the system locks up stops now or not..
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
256
Reaction score
303
Location
SF BayArea
ALso I did try the beta version of AS ROCK bios.. It did help me recognizing the M2 970 Pro SSD and boot off it...

How ever locking did not stop.. So I remove BI from the system for now..

I hope it does not lock again.. Will see.. However I just did come across the link I just provided you with not sure .. what that is.. I mean driver for the chip ? sounds like
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
256
Reaction score
303
Location
SF BayArea
yep cpu usage is down though, just got an update a few min ago for BI5
Have you try a BIOS upgrade like the beta one with the graphic driver. Because I have not try the Graphic driver but did try the bios upgrade.. that did not help..


ASRock > Z87 Extreme6


The beta latest one I installed is..

[Beta] 2.90 2018/5/30 5.45MB Instant Flash Update CPU Microcode Global


But Again My PC was still FREEZING/LOCKING.

Now I am not sure along with the driver upgrade if it helps..

If it does please let me know if you do end up trying..
 

evnldr

n3wb
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
5
Location
East Coast
It has the latest i updated via bios mine is just a
Asrock fatality z87 killer not a pro or extreme
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
256
Reaction score
303
Location
SF BayArea
It has the latest i updated via bios mine is just a
Asrock fatality z87 killer not a pro or extreme
So since last night I took the blueiris 5 -- From this i7 4770k Setup.. Guess what

No More Freezing.. of pc or locking.. So definitely I am starting to feel like have isolated the problem down.

Now another test we can probably do is not use Intel / intel VPP and see if that for now atleast does the trick

I know I know that is the best way to do it with the QuickSync

.. But it keeps freezing trying to isolate it what exactly is causing the lock ups..

Then possibly write it both to Intel and blueiris.. if that is the case also involve ASROCK if needed.
 

evnldr

n3wb
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
21
Reaction score
5
Location
East Coast
I just ordered a replacement board. Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H not a gigabit fan but it was cheap enough. will use the old one for a garage PC.

Will keep you posted.
I did make sure the power supply is hagswell ready and swapped ram, same thing,
 

tech101

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
256
Reaction score
303
Location
SF BayArea
Awesome, Hope this resolves it for you.. Just make sure you have all the latest drivers.
 

Jacks

n3wb
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
West Grove
I just ordered a replacement board. Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H not a gigabit fan but it was cheap enough. will use the old one for a garage PC.

Will keep you posted.
I did make sure the power supply is hagswell ready and swapped ram, same thing,
Did this end up working for you? I am having similar issues with a Gigabyte GA-Z87-D3HP board. I am trying to isolate the problem, but can not seem to figure it out.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,244
Reaction score
6,507
Location
USA
User-mode software like Blue Iris generally can not cause a blue screen or full system freezes, but it may put the system under a heavy enough load that a minor flaw in a more important component causes a problem. Usually the real culprit is a buggy driver or failing hardware. Power supplies are probably the most common point of failure, but it is far from the only thing that can be wrong. I once even had a keyboard causing blue screens within minutes of bootup. Switched it to a different USB port and then everything was fine.
 
Top