BlueIris and CPAI on Proxmox

AlwaysSomething

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
The short version:

How are people using Proxmox to host BI (on Windows VM) and CPAI (windows VM or Linux VM)?
How are you performing backups/upgrades?
Are there any issues or pain points to share?
Preference over bare metal install?

The long version:

I want to upgrade to newest version of BI and CAPI but the last 2 times I did an upgrade I spent many hours tweaking/testing/troubleshooting. I don't want to call them problems because sometimes it was new functionality which is why I upgraded to begin with. Things need tweaking and/or learning curves by me (I'm fairly new to all of this especially CPAI). Another example that was not a problem was me getting a Coral TPU and testing different CPAI models, model sizes as well as CPU vs GPU vs TPU.

Bottom line is during that time (which again could be days) I don't want to lose/miss any potential videos/alerts.

That being said I want to configure a second PC for BI. I want to have a "stable version" PC and "latest version" PC (or Production and Development PCs). I want to be able to upgrade and test in DEV (for at least a few days so I get good day and night scenarios) before I upgrade my PROD PC. Obviously I'll need at least 2 licenses and twice the hardware, that's OK (I'll be repurposing older hardware).